CroCop on the Dos Santos Loss

Cro-Cop-upsetIn an interview with Croatina site Nokaut, Mirko CroCop talked about his loss to Junior Dos Santos and his future. All in all, it was not a pleasant interview:

I was very, very disturbed after the loss to Dos Santos. I was in such a state that I wished to hang myself in my hotel room so I would be gone. Three losses in my last seven fights is nothing but a disaster to me. That’s a terrible score and I’m not happy about it.

I already know some things that I did wrong both in the fight and in the preparation for the fight, but there are many questions that remain to be answered. I am seriously thinking about hiring a psychiatrist to help me out. I have already made some calls about it.

If someone offered me millions of dollars to quit my career right now I would not accept it… [Fighting] is my life and I don’t know any other way to live.

I will make some changes in my training, because I wish to fight twice more in the UFC. I am a fighter, and I will find the motivation and strength I need.

In recent years the common criticism of CroCop has been that he lacks the mental game – that once he starts to lose he folds up and can’t come back. This interview sheds a lot of light on that idea, revealing that CroCop knows his mental game needs help, and that his mental state needs help as well. It’s never good to hear someone talking about suicide in this way – let’s hope CroCop gets the help he needs to get his mind on track, not just for the sake of seeing him fight again, but for the good of him as a person.

Leave a comment

Filed under kickboxing, MMA

Leave a Reply

